Advisory Committee

Texas Sea Grant’s mission is to improve the understanding, wise use and stewardship of Texas coastal and marine resources. To achieve this mission, Texas Sea Grant develops and supports research, education and outreach programs and partnerships and relies on the public for knowledge, advice and guidance. The best source for such guidance is an active, well-informed and committed Advisory Committee.

Advisory Committee members represent the diversity of Texas' citizens, partners and stakeholders.  As such, the committee consists of a broad cross section of individuals who represent different regions of the state, relevant local, state and federal management, teaching and research institutions, independent school districts, private entities, non-profit organizations and non-governmental organizations.

Advisory Committee Charter

Advisory Committee Members

John T. Cooper, Jr. PhD.
Assistant Vice President

Benny Gallaway, Ph.D.

Regina Garcia Pena

David Green
Deputy Director, Coastal Resources
Texas General Land Office

Lisa Gonzalez
Vice President & Executive Director

Andrea Hance
Texas Shrimp Association

Scott Hickman
Captain and Owner
Circle H Outfitters and Charters

Robin Riechers
Director of Coastal Fisheries
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

Greg Stunz, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Center for Sportfish Science and Conservation
Endowed Chair in Fisheries and Ocean Health, Professor of Marine Biology
Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies

Lucas Gregory, Ph.D.
Associate Director
Texas Water Resources Institute