Heather B. Wade

Senior Associate Director for Planning and Extension

Brazos County
Texas A&M University
O&M Building Rm 306
797 Lamar Street
4115 TAMU
College Station, Texas, 77843
Phone: 979-845-3855
Fax: 979-845-7525
Email Heather


Organization: Texas Sea Grant

Heather Wade is the Senior Associate Director for Planning and Extension of the Texas Sea Grant College Program. She also leads reporting and database management for the program and is the Co-Director of the Community Resilience Collaborative, a research and extension based planning program for the state of Texas.

Wade joined the staff in June 2011 as the program’s and state of Texas’ first Coastal Planning Specialist. She developed and implemented the coastal planning program to provide planning expertise and assistance to coastal communities and natural resource managers. Her work involved helping communities assess their resilience to natural hazards and assess and update their comprehensive plans and land use ordinances. She provided technical assistance to urban planners and coordinated and facilitated small and large workshops related to land use and environmental planning.

In 2015, Wade took a position with the State of Oregon as the Coastal State-Federal Relations Coordinator for the Oregon Coastal Management Program and Department of Land Conservation and Development. In that role, she managed a statewide database on coastal development and restoration projects, performed federal consistency reviews, managed grant projects, and networked with local, state, and federal governments to reach solutions to conflicts on the Oregon coast.

She received a bachelor of science in Environmental Studies with minors in Geography and Earth Sciences from Texas A&M University and a Master of Urban Planning with a focus on Land Use and Environmental Planning with a certificate in Environmental Hazards Management, also from Texas A&M University. She is currently working on her Ph.D. in Urban and Regional Science at Texas A&M University. Wade also currently serves on the Community Resilience Advisory Council of the National Association of Counties.