Annapolis Christian Academy wins Loggerhead Challenge

February 11, 2013

By Jim Hiney

PORT ARANSAS, TX — Annapolis Christian Academy’s “A” Team defended its championship on Saturday by winning the 2013 Loggerhead Challenge Regional Competition of the National Ocean Sciences Bowl (NOSB), and advancing to the National Finals Competition.

The team of Emily Borchardt, Andrew Hanks, Austin Jones, Colton Garrett and Sam Stephens emerged at the top of the nine-team field after a day of head-to-head matches where the high school students demonstrated their knowledge of marine and coastal science by answering questions from biology, physics, chemistry, geology, geography, mathematics and the social sciences. Annapolis Christian Academy, from Corpus Christi, defeated second place finisher Gregory-Portland High School “A” Team in the final match, earning the right to face the winners of the other 24 NOSB regional competitions in Milwaukee April 18-21.

This year’s Loggerhead Challenge was held on the campus of The University of Texas Marine Science Institute for the first time.

As the runner-up, the Gregory-Portland team of Jose Guardiola, Chelsea Temple, Austin Partridge, Rayva Minor and Megan Holden is an alternate for the NOSB National Finals if Annapolis Christian Academy cannot compete. Third place went to Chaparral Star Academy’s (Austin) “A” Team of Brady Romero, Randi Cannon, Alex Clarke, Addison Kliewer and Yessica Gaona-Morales.

Corpus Christi’s Foy H. Moody High School was honored with the Dr. Wes Tunnell Sportsmanship Award, which is given to the team judged by competition officials to best embody the spirit of earnest competition while demonstrating exemplary decorum. Tunnell is a widely respected ocean scientist renowned as much for his integrity, honesty and work ethic as he is for his expansive body of research. Tunnell is currently associate director of the Harte Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies at Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi. Members of the Moody High School team were Cristian Carlos, Roger Guerra, Victor Mendoza, Michael Salazar and Emmitt Silguero.

The rest of the Loggerhead Challenge field comprised Annapolis Christian Academy “B” Team, Chaparral Star Academy “B” Team, Gregory-Portland High School “B” Team, and James Madison High School “A” and “B” teams (San Antonio).

NOSB, hosted in Texas by the Texas Sea Grant College Program at Texas A&M University, is intended to increase knowledge of the oceans on the part of high school students, their teachers and parents, and to raise the visibility and public understanding of the national investment in ocean-related research, said Terrie Looney, regional coordinator for NOSB competitions in Texas. Looney is also the Texas Sea Grant Extension Program’s Coastal and Marine Resources Agent for Jefferson and Chambers counties.

The Loggerhead Challenge, held annually in the Coastal Bend area, is one of two NOSB regional competitions hosted by Texas Sea Grant each year and it is open to high school teams from south and west Texas. The other competition is the Dolphin Challenge, open to teams from north and east Texas. This year’s Dolphin Challenge, scheduled Saturday, Feb. 23, will be held at Ball High School in Galveston.

NOSB is managed nationally by the Consortium for Ocean Leadership, a nonprofit organization representing 94 of the leading public and private ocean research and education institutions, aquaria and industry with the mission to advance research, education and sound ocean policy.


Annapolis Christian Academy’s A Team won the 2013 Loggerhead Challenge regional competition of the National Ocean Sciences Bowl, held on the campus of The University of Texas Marine Science Institute in Port Aransas. Team members are (L to R) Sam Stephens, Colton Garrett, Andrew Hanks, Austin Jones, Emily Borchardt and Coach Sarah Borchardt. (Photo courtesy Texas Sea Grant)

Gregory-Portland High School A Team was runner-up at the 2013 Loggerhead Challenge. Team members are (L to R) Chelsea Temple, Megan Holden, Jose Guardiola, Austin Partridge, Rayva Minor and Coach Ross Tuxhorn. (Photo courtesy Texas Sea Grant)

The Chaparral Star Academy A Team, from Austin, won third place in the 2013 Loggerhead Challenge. Team members are (L to R) Addison Kliewer, Brady Romero, Randi Cannon, Yessica Gaona-Morales, Alex Clarke and Coach Kris Barnett. (Photo courtesy Texas Sea Grant)

Corpus Christi’s Foy H. Moody High School received the Dr. Wes Tunnell Sportsmanship Award. Team members are (L to R) Victor Mendoza, Michael Salazar, Cristian Carlos, Emmitt Silguero, Roger Guerra and Coach Jason James


Texas Sea Grant is a unique partnership that unites the resources of the federal government, the State of Texas and universities across the state to create knowledge, tools, products and services that benefit the economy, the environment and the citizens of Texas. It is administered through the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and is one of 33 university-based Sea Grant Programs around the country. Texas Sea Grant is a non-academic research center in the College of Geosciences at Texas A&M University. The program’s mission is to improve the understanding, wise use and stewardship of Texas coastal and marine resources.